top of page
Amalia Ioana Vintila

Have a bite or sip in the Bucharest old center


If I am to start I would say that Aubergine Restaurant is an amazing restaurant that provides everything someone needs. It is located on Smârdan Street no. 33. Even though it is Iranian, anyone can find something they like. I would say that the prices are medium, but drinks are pretty cheap and very tasty at the same time. An alcoholic cocktail price is between 20 and 25 lei, I believe. Lemonade costs 16 lei and a water bottle is about 6 lei. Good prices compared with most restaurants. In the food area, a dessert you should try is the Iranian halva, which is sugar-free, something special for this type of dessert, but I can tell you it is absolutely amazing. It is very tasty and something else worth mentioning is the seafood pan which contains a lot of seafood. It is grilled and comes together with a home-prepared sauce. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very pleasant and relaxing. Outside there are flowers and the narrow old center streets and buildings are creating a beautiful landscape.

Coming next we have the Exclusive restaurants. There are two in the Old Centre and one next to the University Square, right at the end of the Old Centre. They all provide tasty food and drinks, at a decent price. If you want to go to drink something they have pretty much everything. They have both non-alcoholic and alcoholic cocktails, coffee, beer, wine, alcoholic drinks, and something really interesting, they have coffee with alcohol. Pancakes are also something you should really try. There are 30 types of pancakes, so you should really go have some!!!

If you are looking forward to drinking a very good coffee and at the same time eating a very tasty piece of cake, I would recommend going to the Monk cafeteria. It is located on Regina Elisabeta Avenue, right opposite Gheorghe Lazar National College. Coffee prices are between 12 lei for small size and 18 lei for more complicated or bigger sized coffee cups. Something special they have is the carrot cake. Frankly, if you would ask me what my opinion on a carrot cake is, I will say I don’t know, it doesn’t attract me. But when I tasted that cake I was more than impressed. It was so tasty that I almost bought another one. I am so thankful towards the staff person because he recommended this cake.

To end this beautiful list, another restaurant worth mentioning is Linea/ Closer to the Moon. Its view is what makes this terrace so interesting. It is located at the top of a building on Lipscani Street, on the fourth floor. That is why it is named a sky bar because from up there you can have a whole perspective of the Bucharest Old Centre. Since I am a dessert fanatic I would also want to mention a dessert. It is a white chocolate sphere that contains a white chocolate mousse. Oh and, last but not least, it is a great place for taking photos!!! I have 2 Instagram pics from there.

As you can see Bucharest’s center is full of amazing restaurants and cafeterias that you should really try. There are many others besides the ones I have mentioned, so go take a look, take a bite, have a sip and visit Bucharest’s Old Centre!



Editor

Alexia Popescu

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page