top of page
Diana Manta

Rick Riordan and his universe of demigods

It is often said that reading is boring and a waste of time. Is that actually true? The answer is no; the most important thing is to find something you like and you are interested in. You might like Greek mythology and if that’s true… it is a must to try Rick Riordan’s books, I can confirm they are a masterpiece. You won’t be disappointed!

As a kid who has always been keen on reading, but also discovering more about Greeks and their mythology, this including reading articles, books and watching every single documentary that exists on this theme, I was enchanted when I found something “from both worlds”: a novel which combines a fantasy world with mythology. “Could it get better”, I thought? You can tell I immediately bought it and I read it as soon as I could. I was speechless when I finished the first book. Not only you learn more about deities and their special powers but you can also enjoy the course of 3 teenagers’ lives: you can watch them grow “in front of your eyes” and discover their roots.

Let me tell you a little more about the books. The first series, named “Percy Jackson and the Olympians” is about Percy, who discovers that he is a demigod. Yes, but what is a demigod? Amazing question…A demigod is the offspring of a human and a god, also considered a minor deity. How is this possible? Well… this means one of their parents is a god and the other one is a human. (to be more precise, Percy was the son of Poseidon and a woman). He is taken to the Camp Half-Blood, by his friend, Grover, and also Chiron, both centaurs. There he understands that he is not the only one of that type and the deities have a lot of children with mortals. Every God had a cabin where his/her children lived. Poseidon was one of the members of “the powerful trio” (Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades); they promised they won’t have kids with mortals, and yet… here is Percy. (Don’t worry, Poseidon was not the only one who broke this rule). Monsters were threatening the lives of the demigods and the children had a single job: to defeat them every time they appeared. You want to see Percy and his friends in action and how they had to plan the defeat of the enemies in order to save everyone’s life? I won’t spoil more of the book because I already did… but if you feel like this might be something you like or maybe you are just curious about the plot, you should totally check out the books and see for yourself! I can tell you that it became one of my comfort books and I always go back to it sometimes because I really miss the characters and the way Rick managed to imagine such great things and write them so thoughtfully; he really never missed a detail and everything is perfectly structured.

To sum up, in case I managed to get you interested in knowing more about mythology, or if you just want something to spend and enjoy your time with, this would be the perfect match. Reading is all about imagination, learning, and enjoying the topic. Don’t worry… if mythology is not for you or you don’t feel “attracted” to this book/series, I will come back with other suggestions I loved! Remember, be curious and don’t be afraid to try new things… you don’t know which book is going to be your next favorite novel!




Editor


Vochita Thea


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page