top of page
Mara Deac

Fictional Characters: a love story

In our many days spent on the couch, watching Netflix, Hulu, HBO, or even television, there was always a character that gave us butterflies and made our dream to marry him/her one day.


The creators of different shows are designing the perfect match, the ideal partner, “the one” and it seems so easy to find. While we live in the reality portrait by “The love of our life”, the real reality keeps moving forward.


The last episode. My partner for the past five seasons is saying goodbye. I am sitting on my couch, crying. The box of tissues sitting next to me is now almost empty and a part of my heart is forever linked to this seasonal love. I realize I will probably have to watch the episode once again since my tears are blocking my view. Then, the screen turns black the credits start to appear.


I wipe my tears and start to google the name of the actor who stole my heart. With hope, I look at his age. 43. I’m not even half his age. “Age is just a number.” So I continue imagining our future together. Wedding on the beach, all the A-list Stars invited. A beautiful house in LA and a delightful apartment in New York. And the kids come along. After a week, I start a new show and find new love. Only if it would be so easy in real life too.


The disappointment that fictional love stories create impacts the soul and expectations. Of course, you want a smart boy like Jess (Gilmore Girls), as bad-boy as Damon (The Vampire Diaries), a best friend like Nate (Gossip Girl). A love story lived on the edge is every girl’s dream.


The ‘Prince Charming’ concept we all have in the back of our heads will not reflect reality, most of the time. The idea of selling love stories is brilliant if you think about it. They know that once you fell in love with whoever you fell in love with, you will come back to watch the show, over and over again.


Every movie/TV show that is exemplary, has a least a love story.Talking not only about the romance/rom-com films here. Action movies, murder mysteries, drama series, there is always a power couple, always someone who steals your heart right away.

That is the beauty of films. The ‘love of your life will always be there, waiting for you. Your kids will be able to watch it, your husband or wife will be able to see who has a piece of your heart. And you, you will always be able to fall in love with him/her, over and over again.



Editor- Elena Alexia Neagu

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page